AK House Majority
The 26th Alaska State Legislature, 2009 - 2010  
Sponsor Statement: House Bill 201

Concealed Handgun Permits

Ak Legislative MajorityAk Legislative Majority
Rep. Craig Johnson R-24
Ak Legislative Majority

Rep. Craig Johnson

Chair, (H) RLS Com.
Chair, (L) CIS Com.
Ak Majority Organization

Ak Majority Organization

Relating to the expiration date of a concealed handgun permit.

Posted: March 27, 2009
Bill Version: CSHB 201(JUD)
Status: Chapter 50 SLA 09 : 2009-07-09

June 2003 Alaska Governor Frank Murkowski signed into law the bill allowing citizens to carry firearms concealed without getting a permit. The bill had 33 co-sponsors, from both chambers, and passed on a veto-proof vote of 28 to 12 in the House and 12 to 8 in the Senate.

The permit is still available for those who would want to travel to other states that have reciprocity with Alaska. Since the permit is not necessary in Alaska some permit holders forget the renewal date.

This bill changes the expiration date of a concealed handgun permit from five years from the date of issue to the personís birthday. The first year is a transitional year where the permit will be issued for a minimum of 4 year and how ever many months it is until the personís birthday. All permits after that will be for 5 years.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

2009-04-13 : [AUDIO] Rep. Johnson Explains That Concealed Carry Permits Would Use the Individual's Birthday as a Renewal Date
 Download Audio  [MP3:255KB]

# # #
Share |